Skip to content Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer


PR Cllr N Ganda




082 894 6098


Municipal Public Accounts Committee (MPAC) is established in terms of the Municipal Finance Management Act, 2003, Act 56 of 2003 (MFMA), section 52 (b) and 103 respectively as well as in the Code of Conduct for Councillors, defined in Schedule 1 of Municipal Systems Act, No.32 of 2000. Section 129(4) of the MFMA further guides how municipal councils should consider annual reports and conduct public hearings and the functioning and composition of any public accounts or oversight committees established by the council to assist it in considering an annual report.

Purpose Of MPAC

The MPAC will assist the council in holding the executive and municipal entities to account and ensure the efficient and effective use of municipal resources. By so doing, the MPAC would help to increase council and public awareness of the financial and performance issues of the municipality and its entities.

Composition and Membership

The MPAC, similar to other committees of council should comprise solely of councillors appointed by resolution of a full council meeting. However, the committee may invite representatives of the community and co-opt members of the public who have expertise in relevant specific fields to assist and advise in the deliberations when the need arises. These representatives will have no voting rights as they are not elected councillors. However, this will exclude, any councillor serving as Executive Mayor or Deputy Executive Mayor, Mayor or Deputy Mayor, Speaker, Chief Whip, a member of Mayoral Committee, a member of the Executive Committee. Where the municipality has a sufficient number of councillors, councillors serving on the MPAC should preferably not serve in other Committees of Council to minimise possible conflict of interest.

The members of the MPAC are as follows:

  • PR Cllr N Ganda – Chairperson
  • Cllr Thethemini Shepstone Sitway
  • Cllr Nokhanyo Magatya
  • Cllr Zanele Magazi
  • Cllr Luyanda Mpunzi
  • Cllr Tamella Nokele
  • Cllr Nosipho Nancy Ntshontsho
  • Cllr Ernest Fipaza
  • Cllr Mzekelo Ndikinda
  • Cllr Ayabonga Tyatyaza
  • Cllr Amos Zunguzane